Review: Great Value Hard Candy Mints


Last month I made hard candy mint pouches for Valentine’s Day. After a month or so of trouble searching for Brachs starlight Mints, I was able to find a generic brand of starlight mint for my little pouches. Walmart sells peppermint, spearmint and cinnamon flavored hard candy both in store and online. I finally got a chance to try and review all 3.

Peppermint

My go to for when I have sore throat or just want a mint without a over powering taste. My favorite would always be Brach’s but finding small bags of these were tricky. Walmart has then but in 5lb bags. Great Value is just as good. These are naturally flavored with peppermint oil so no weird after taste.

Spearmint

Never had spearmint starlight mint before. However I have had Ice Breakers spearmint breath mints. With Ice Breakers I kept getting an alcohol like or bitter sharp taste. But not with Great Value. Just like their peppermint starlights, these spearmint starlights have natural flavored oils. That means no nasty after taste. If you enjoy spearmint gum, then you’ll love these spearmint starlight mints.

Cinnamon

I loved Brach’s cinnamon starlight mints. Unfortunately they stopped making those. When I found Great Value hard candy at Walmart I took a chance on them. Unlike the peppermint and spearmint mints these are not starlight mints. These look like cough drops because of their shape and dark color. Don’t be fooled, they are just as spicy as Brach’s yet just as good. They aren’t hot at first. But when you chew on then that’s when you taste the cinnamon flavor. I like these for after meals.

Rating
5 Stars

Review
I actually love all 3 flavors. Not always do I want just one flavor. I bundled all 3 into a large ziplock bag, mix together and carefully pour into small ziplock bags. Totally worth the cost and bags are large enough I can stretch out without any left over . I love that Walmart’s Great Value brand hard candies are natural not artificial flavored. I also like that these pack a great punch of flavor without being over powering. I definitely recommend all 3 flavors. Try them, you might just like then. 

Leave a comment