Me and My Green Cane

I’m going blind due to Retinitis Pigmentosa. I’ve had RP for  years.  I’ve used a cane since 1997. Since my first steps with a cane I have always used a cane regularly used in the United States. The canes everyone has known: black grip handle, white shaft and red reflector bottom with a white tip attached to it.

I was finding that my cane would disappear when I wear black with only the shaft and tip showing. Well that changed when I was ordering my cane recently online. On Ambutech’s website you have the opportunityto customize your cane like you would a car. When I saw that you could do this I had to give it a try. Got quite a bit of feedback from sighted friends and family when I showed a photo example so I ordered one. It’s different than what I’ve used in the past. To the blind it’s just a cane. To the sighted it’s a unique take.

What I did was change the grip handle and tip to green while keeping the rest of the cane white. It pops perfectly against my black wardrobe.

I also chose a green cane to get attention on another topic (not related to blindness).

I want to get the word out on living organ donation. You see I am in need of a kidney from a living donor. When I had my transplant eval at UPMC, patients were told to be creative and get the word out on living organ donation. The more you get the word out the better your chances of getting a donated kidney. The problem: everyone was doing the same thing (graphics, websites, stories on the news even walking advertising) and I wanted to be different. I also started a new hashtag #GiveLifeSaveALife while I waited for my new cane. Here’s the deal: being an advocate I would never become desperate for attention (that’s not how I was trained). My goal is to get the word out to anyone who’ll listen. That means letting people come to me (not the other way around). If it lead to potentially getting a donor great. If not it’s okay because I’ll be put on the transplant list. And if need be go on dialysis.

To be considered as a donor you have to be 18-55 years old, in great health and have a selfless attitude to donate. You can donate two ways: apply when you register or renew your photo state ID or driver’s license, or through your local hospital. You can get more info by going to my website.

Oh and the color green? It’s also one of my favorite colors. So you see it’s not just for mobility, but as an education tool to two great causes.

No regrets. I love my new green cane. Ambutech makes great long lasting canes. My last cane is in great shape still and only needs new red and white reflector tape (that I can use as a back up). I can get up to five years with one of their canes. Even if you want the usual red and white cane they’ll still make it for you. Colored canes aren’t for everyone. So test one out if you can before you buy one. And most online stores like Maxi AIDS and Amazom have them.

If you would like to learn more about Ambutech mobility canes go to:
https://ambutech.com/

If you’d like more info on living organ donation go to:
http://www.angelfire.com/jessicaspw/kidneydonor.html

Leave a comment